NOSH ChartingSystem

A new open source health charting system for doctors.

Personal Thoughts About NOSH ChartingSystem and the Five Headlines

Leave a comment

“It takes a really brave doctor to develop their own EHR.”

“Is this doctor crazy?”

These are some comments that I received over the past few weeks since I released my project.  I’d like to use this blog post to talk about how I got to this place and where I hope to head in the future.  I’m going to bring to the forefront my “Five Headlines” and how it has directed my work.

These headlines reflect the fundamental issues that I feel are paramount regarding the current state of healthcare systems (at least in the United States, but certainly applicable around the world).  These headlines impacted me as a practicing physician.   In detail with as many charts and graphs as possible, I’m going to discuss these headlines starting with what is flawed or wrong with the current system and then how it pertains to my development of the NOSH ChartingSystem.

Many Individuals Remain Uninsured or Have Limited Access to Health Care

The Adverse Childhood Experiences Study Suggests That Focus on Early Treatment and Prevention of Certain Childhood Experiences Can Impact Health Care Costs in the Future

Primary Care Physicians are a Dying Breed

Primary Care Physicians Lag in EHR Incentive Payments

Independent Practices are Being Left Behind in Health Information Technology

Although these headlines seem to be distinct issues unrelated to each other, I will show you how they are all interwoven and interconnected with Primary Care being the hub of the problem in the next few posts.  I will then show you how this open source project could be a common focus point to bring about or advocate for changes in our health care system with primary care and independent practices in the front seat.

Author: shihjay

I am a family physician and previous medical director for a child abuse assessment center. I am now promoting my new electronic health record system (NOSH ChartingSystem) that I have developed and used for myself in my private practice since 2010 and now I want to share it to the rest of the doctoring world.

Leave a Reply

