NOSH ChartingSystem

A new open source health charting system for doctors.

Hope springs eternal?

Leave a comment

Found this quote from Dr. Farzad Mostashari, M.D., M.S. (head of the Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT)  when interviewed by the AAFP and I found it very intriguing…

Q: You talk to physicians all the time about health IT. Are doctors happy with their EHRs? What major concerns continue to surface in those conversations?

A: The National Center for Health Statistics did a rigorous survey of office-based physicians in America and got a 68 percent response rate. Of those responders, about 15 percent said they were dissatisfied with their EHRs. I think that number may grow, because as we expand beyond the early adopters, the expectations for usable and intuitive technology are higher. I sure hope that the EHR vendors are hearing the same levels of dissatisfaction from their customers and their prospective customers that I’m hearing. I hope vendors are focusing on user-centered design in the next iterations of their software instead of adding more bells and whistles.

Call my cynical, but I doubt that will change, especially from the large vendor EHR’s.  There is no incentive for these EHR’s to focus efforts on user-centered design in the perspective of a physician because…the physicians are NOT who they are catering to!   If Dr. Mostashari believes this will change any time soon(or ever), I hope he hopes harder than I do.  If this is what was being promised when the HITECH Act and Meaningful Use was developed (through crony capitalism, no less), imagine the disarray of highly unusable, and highly suspect data generators that will be left around the Health IT environment in the near future.  It ain’t going to be pretty.

Author: shihjay

I am a family physician and previous medical director for a child abuse assessment center. I am now promoting my new electronic health record system (NOSH ChartingSystem) that I have developed and used for myself in my private practice since 2010 and now I want to share it to the rest of the doctoring world.

Leave a Reply

