NOSH ChartingSystem

A new open source health charting system for doctors.

More EHR Pet Peeves

Leave a comment

I just can’t stand it…I just have to vent.  Because it happens nearly EVERY DAY!

I’m a clinician day in and day out and I have to see past lab reports generated by an Epic EHR which are faxed over to me.  Yes, in these modern times, we still have to get a fax; because as a small clinic, you just can’t afford to get Epic and to have CareEverywhere…so much for Meaningful Use and being in the year 2016!)

So, I’m looking for abnormal values and I see them.

But there’s a problem.

Epic highlights these values in a shaded color (I have no idea what color it’s supposed to be because it’s printed in black and white).

Then you fax this paper to another clinic and it gets even more pixelated to the point of illegibility.

And so all you know is that there’s something wrong but YOU CAN’T READ THE VALUE.

I have to take the extra time to call the clinic to get the numerical value and normal ranges, VERBALLY.

Really, in this day and age?

 

 

Author: shihjay

I am a family physician and previous medical director for a child abuse assessment center. I am now promoting my new electronic health record system (NOSH ChartingSystem) that I have developed and used for myself in my private practice since 2010 and now I want to share it to the rest of the doctoring world.

Leave a Reply

